LOVE

Posted: September 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

This poem was written by a British writer (name unknown), so so many years ago. I stumbled upon it some years back in my secondary school library. I take no credit whatsoever for this work. Enjoy!

======================================================================================================================

Love bade me welcome, yet my soul drew back

Guilty of dust and sin

But quick-eyed Love, observing me grow slack

From my first entrance in,

Drew nearer to me, sweetly questioning

If I lacked anything

 

“A guest”, I answered, “Worthy to be here”

Love said, “You shall be he”

“I, the unkind, ungrateful? Ah, my dear,

I cannot look on thee”

Love took my hand and smiling did reply

“Who made the eyes but I?”

 

“Truth, Lord, but I have marred them, let me shame

Go where it doth deserve”

“And know you not” Says Love,”Who bore the blame?”

“My dear, then I will serve”

“You must sit down” says Love “and taste my meat”

So I did sit and eat.

Comments
  1. Tears…? No, gotta be strong…

Leave a Reply

